‘I’ is present and continuous

‘I,’ ‘My,’ and ‘Myself’ are three powerful words in my view and understanding.

Since I first heard the sentence ‘Aham Brahmasmi,’ it almost always got me thinking, what does / could this sentence mean?

As I grew, I shared my interpretations of this sentence but only with myself. 🙂

The most childish one was imagining someone sitting in front of me and saying to me, ‘I am Brahma, ‘The creator of the universe (as per Hindu mythology).

The other exciting interpretations were

  1. Utter self-appraisal
  2. Ultimate Self-Awareness
  3. Self-Knowledge
  4. Conveying my existence explicitly
  5. Realising self-integration with the world and recognizing individualism
  6. Ahankar or more concisely Ahamkara (both, usually perceived in a negative way)
  7. Ghamand (usually maps to the English equivalent ‘Arrogance’)

Nevertheless, as I became an adult (at least age-wise), I found myself a proponent of individualism and got into thinking that why this ‘I’sm is ofen taken so negatively? Is it propaganda against the individual’s awareness about oneself? Is it something else?

I still don’t know, but what I think, as of today, is this. 

  • Each one of us must work on oneself to build excellent ‘I’s
  • Identify and associate with different such ‘I’s and co-create amazing ‘We.’

Based on this current thinking process, here I go to write A-Z of how I see myself building a ‘I’ who becomes enabled to…

  1. Appreciate life and people and their helpful contribution to other’s life
  2. Apologize the moment I realize to do so
  3. Bring Clarity to me, my peers, and our common goals and objectives.
  4. Communicate assertively to everyone
  5. Declutter my mind, in different ways, the moment I feel a need to do so
  6. Embrace ambiguity to an extent
  7. Feel good when my peers, friends, and community members make progress in life
  8. Get the right things done in the right ways
  9. Honestly, accept my mistakes
  10. Inquire as much I should minimize my ignorance
  11. Jeopardize things and situations as minimum as possible
  12. Know better about myself and the world around me
  13. Laugh loudly at my stupidity and the jokes people tell me to see me laughing
  14. Learn from different people, situations, and events
  15. Minimize biases, misconceptions, and miscommunication 
  16. Notice what’s going on
  17. Offer Help without being judgemental.
  18. Practice testing, good thinking, understanding, writing, and conversing
  19. Question
  20. Recognize the nurturing needs of my body and mind
  21. Say ‘Thank You’ to someone who helps, criticizes, brings joy to work, conversation, interaction, and helps reduce my foolishness
  22. Say ‘No’ when I know it is the time to say so
  23. Seek Help by surrendering my ego
  24. Trust people around me
  25. Understand (the best I can manage to) people around me, working with me and their situations
  26. Validate my assumptions by explicating those
  27. Write (type) and publish, if I should

Yes, there are no X, Y, and Z, and there are no periods.

It is not a template.

It is an experience and journey.

It is present continuous

Leave a comment